top of page
Search

DIY Candied Oranges

If you love Trader Joe's candied oranges as much as I do you've noticed that they haven't been on the shelves recently. I love

including these on my boards for a pop of color and as a sweet treat! Not only are these great pops of color on boards, but they can also be used on cakes, cookies and in cocktails. For example, try replacing the sugar in an old-fashioned and muddle one of these orange slices instead or use as garnish!


Unsure when these will be returning, I decided to make some of my own with a twist. In this recipe I used a mix of blood oranges and navel oranges and I replaced sugar with BetterBody Foods Monk Fruit Blend- zero calorie sweetener. You can find this at Target or on Amazon for $9.25.


 

RECIPE

Ingredients:

  • 3-4 oranges of your choice

  • 2 cups of water

  • 1 1/2 cups of Monk Fruit Blend (you can use granulated sugar if preferred)

 

Directions:


Cut oranges into 1/4-inch slices.


Combine water and sweetener or sugar in a saucepan or dutch oven, bring to a boil, and stir until sweetener or sugar is dissolved.


Reduce heat to medium-low and add orange slices.


Simmer for 45 min to 1 hour.


Remove oranges with a slotted spoon and transfer to a cooling rack. I suggest placing parchment paper underneath as the oranges will drip.



Lightly sprinkle both sides with sweetener or sugar as desired.


Let the oranges dry out for 24 hours. Be sure that the oranges are completely dry prior to storing. These wills stay fresh for up to 1 week.



Hope you all enjoy this easy recipe and if you try it, be sure to tag me in your post!


-Danielle





Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page